Freshly roasted

Ethiopians love their coffee and hours are spent in ceremonial preparation of the black nectar. They roast, brew, decant , boil again until they have the perfect, smooth blend. I’m just back from Ethiopia with a kilo of their finest coffee beans. What I hadn’t realized when I placed my order for the beans was that they would be un-roasted, green beans. More on how I dealt with them later!

The hotel where I was staying came with its own coffee shop where we could get free coffee at every break. It felt like having my own barista and by the end of the week he had my order made to perfection. I joked that I would have to take him back to Nairobi with me and on my last day he looked rather too hopeful. I half expected to see his bags packed and ready to go!

Barista EthiopiaHe did make a wicked macchiato!

Back home with my green coffee beans…….. I needed to quickly become an expert roaster.

IMG_20131006_224529[1] IMG_20131006_224756[1]

After a bit of research I found a good method that I could do at home. And my beans went from the picture on the left to the one on the right. Made quite a bit of smoke and debris but now have lovely home roasted coffee!! And if coffee smell sells houses, people from the next suburb will be queuing up to see ours (not that its our to sell 😉

IMG_20131027_221238[1]

Leave a comment